Royal Decrees forming new university and expanding AER’s portfolio to include Gas

August 12, 2020

Muscat (WAF): Sultan Haitham bin Tariq issued today several Royal Decrees with changes to the Authority for Electricity Regulation (AER), Applied Sciences Colleges and several appointments.

As per today’s RDs, six colleges will merge to establish the University of Technology and Applied Sciences. And Dr Saeed bin Hamad bin Saeed al-Rubaie is appointed as Chancellor.

The Sultan also ordered to change the name of AER and expands its authority. The Public Utilities Authority (PUA) is responsible for regulating the electricity and related water sector and the gas transmission sector, in addition to any new areas to be added by the Council of Ministers. Dr Mansour bin Talib al-Hinai is named as President of the Authority.

The Sultan has also selected a member of al-Shura Council -the elected branch of the Omani Parliament- to head the Consumer Protection Authority. Sulayem bin Ali bin Sulayem al-Hakmani was chairing the Economic and Financial Committee at al-Shura Council.

 Other appointments include Dr Abdullah bin Khamis bin Ali Ambosaidi as Undersecretary of the Ministry of Education – for Education, Majid bin Saeed bin Suleiman al-Bahri as Undersecretary of the Ministry of Education for Administrative and Financial Affairs, Dr Mohammad bin Saeed bin Khalfan al-Maamari, as Undersecretary of the Ministry of Endowments and Religious Affairs, and Dr Fatima bint Mohammed bin Baqer Al-Ajmi as Undersecretary of the Ministry of Health for Administrative, Financial and Planning Affairs.

The changes also include appointing Ahmed bin Salem bin Rashid al-Rajibi as Vice Chairman of the State Audit Institute for the Financial and Administrative Control of the State Administrative Apparatus, and Omar bin Hamdan bin Hamoud al-Ismaili as Executive President of the Telecommunications Regulatory Authority.